Paradox Babbles

Forget about Debates

Even if I debate with you, if you won over me and I did not win; are you really right and I am really wrong? If I won and you did not, am I really right and you are really wrong? Or either one of us is right, or one of us is wrong? Are we both right or both wrong? You and I cannot understand each other; everyone can be disillusioned with the dark.

Who can we ask to make sure it is right? If we ask someone who agrees with you, he already agrees with you, how can he make the right judgment? If we ask someone who agrees with me, he already agrees with me, how can he make the right judgment? If we ask someone who has different opinions from both of us, he is different from both of us already, how can he make the right judgment. If we ask someone who has similar opinion to both of us, if he is similar to both of us already, how can he make the right judgment? If nobody can understand each other, who are we waiting for?

(from Chapter 2 “All Things Equal”, The Book of Chuang Tzu)

Free Easy Mind Cover Image 1560x2500

Leave a Reply

